OPINION: Lets see change

Picture credit to spencerdailyreporter.com

Picture credit to spencerdailyreporter.com

When will the day come the media is free from an American shooting story?

This is the question on my mind today following the news of two separate stories that happened this week. One where four New Yorkers were shot dead in a barbershop and the other where a six-month-old girl was shot dead as her father changed her nappy.

I am sure that these will not have been the only cases of gun violence this week in the States.

I find it hard to comprehend such acts of violence but I just do not know what it is going to take for law restrictions about owning a gun in the US.

Towards the end of last year 28 people died in a school shooting in Connecticut. I was living close by to the state at the time and can tell you that the atmosphere was like nothing I have ever experienced before.

As I spoke to with distant or direct connections with the shootings they told me there was only one way to describe how they felt after the shootings – like they felt after the 9/11 terrorist attacks.

I stayed in New York for over four months last year, I can honestly say that I was never scared about gun crime, but I think I should have been.

Today a man strolled into a barbershop in upstate New York and open fired with a shotgun, killing two people before driving to a car wash and killing another two people.

On Monday six-month-old girl, Jonylah, was shot dead in Chicago when an attacker approached her father, who was changing her nappy in a minivan at the time, from behind shooting him twice then her five times.

Schools in the area were on a lockdown as a result of the shootings.

It was suspected that her father Jonathan Watkins was associated with a local gang.

I think America is a wonderful country, but I feel that their approach to the gun laws taints the view of the country. Tough regulations are needed to help this country move forward.

Click here for some views on gun laws in the USA reported by the BBC.

About hparr247

Glasgow Caledonian University journalism student who has studied at Stony Brook University in New York. Curious and amazed about the world, what it is up to, and its people.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Journalism, Law, Opinion, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OPINION: Lets see change

  1. dmcmahon2019 says:

    I very much agree. I too wrote on the topic. Great work!

Leave a Reply

