Student’s work not valued

Hours of unpaid work, doing the tasks that no one who is actually getting paid wants to do is something many students or people doing ‘work experience’ face.

At the start of this month the House of Commons heard a second reading of a bill to ban the advertisement of unpaid internships which looks to reduce the number of young people being exploited in workplaces.

However that bill has now died a death and the campaign against people working illegally for free and is no longer a focus in the House of Commons.

Why? Because no party will support it.

This comes just a year after student protests against rising tuition fees, another factor to why students would benefit to get paid at least the legal minimum wage to help pay for fees.

A number of organisations like Intern Aware do recognize the importance of paying their interns however many are on the list which continues to use students in the view that they are doing them a ‘favour’ for allowing them into the work place.

As a journalism student who has to do numerous internships as part of my course I do feel that sometimes my work is not valued or even noticed.

As I love what I do and gathering as much experience as I can this only comes as a second thought to me as I feel the time I am loosing out on money by doing these internships will pay me back when I get a good job – hopefully!

I work full time during the summer in a small café. The money I use to live off for the following year. When I have to take time off my paid café job to do internships I am loosing out on money, therefore it is not possible for me to do many placements – this sets me at a disadvantage to people who can afford not to work for money during the summer months.

If I was to be paid the minimum wage for my internships I would be able to work for longer, at more companies for the benefit of my education and bank balance!

About hparr247

Glasgow Caledonian University journalism student who has studied at Stony Brook University in New York. Curious and amazed about the world, what it is up to, and its people.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Internet, Journalism, Law, Opinion, Politics, Teaching, The Changing Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

