OPINION: What happened to the traditional Mother’s Day gift?

Image

My gift to my mother

As I woke up later than my mum, who was already showered and dressed, this morning I felt somewhat sorry that she never got her burnt toast and cup of tea in bed, I did not feel sorry that she never got an Ipad however.

Today, being Mothering Sunday millions of mothers will have been treated to flowers, cards and meals from their loving children with the few number dishing out that extra bit for an Ipad or Kindle – both of which I saw being advertised as the ‘perfect gift’ for mothers day.

Perfect gift given by who? As much as I would like to hand over the £100 or so present to my mum (who sure deserves it) it would break the bank for me.

And by no means does she expect it either. Mother’s Day for my family, not everyone, is about showing how much we appreciate what she does for us every day (not that this shouldn’t be done every day- but that is another argument) not about buying things.

As I turned to some friends last week and discussed Mother’s Day with them and their plans.

Some responded: “My mum just wouldn’t appreciate a homemade present or cake,” or “I’m buying my mum…” and say something like a new cardigan which is around £30. Now don’t get me wrong, I love my mum but buying her a £30 garment would mean nothing to her like a batch of homemade cupcakes would.

Of course everyone is different but given by the responses I got from some people it comes as no surprise to me that Marketing Week estimates the day to be worth £400m to retailers.

I think that the consumerism surrounding days such as Mothering Sunday and Valentines Day a bit hard to keep up with.

Needless to say I bought flowers a card and made cakes for my mum, and you know what, she was more than happy with that. She did said to me however: “You better not have spent a lot on the flowers” – you can never please them!

About hparr247

Glasgow Caledonian University journalism student who has studied at Stony Brook University in New York. Curious and amazed about the world, what it is up to, and its people.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OPINION: What happened to the traditional Mother’s Day gift?

  1. pam2626 says:

    Is Mother’s Day on a different day in the UK?

Leave a Reply

